Nominees Announcement for the Inaugural Investor Intelligence Awards for Endowments and Foundations in North America

Institutional Investor — Investor Intelligence Network is pleased to announce nominations for our inaugural Investor Intelligence Awards, recognizing the most outstanding and innovative endowments and foundations in North America.

Cast your vote for IIN Awards.

Nearly 800 asset allocators, all of whom are members of our prestigious Investor Intelligence Network, were asked to submit their nominations. We aim to recognize those individuals considered by peers and industry members to be true innovators, leaders and cutting-edge thinkers. Following a thorough vetting process conducted over the past month, we are proud to announce the award categories and nominees below.

We also invite you to join us in recognizing John Powers, President & Chief Executive Officer at the Stanford Management Company, with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his leading role in the community as a mentor and visionary.

Investor Intelligence Award: Private Equity

Andrew Christensen, Director of Private Markets, Carleton College
Adele N. Gorrilla, Chief Investment Officer, Denison University
James R. Martin, Chief Investment Officer, M. J. Murdock Charitable Trust
Daniel T. Steele, Managing Director of Private Equity Investments, MIT Investment Management Company
Sonali Dalal, Senior Director, Investment Strategy and Research, Pennsylvania State University
Christy Richardson, Director of Private Equity, The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation

Investor Intelligence Award: Alpha Generation

Timothy M. Jarry, Chief Investment Officer, College of the Holy Cross
Jeffrey E. Heil, Chief Investment Officer, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
Scott M. Pittman, Senior Vice President & Chief Investment Officer, Mount Sinai Health System
Todd M. Corbin, Chief Investment Officer, New York Public Library
Michael Shay, Director of Investments, Phillips Academy

Investor Intelligence Award: Credit Strategies

Catherine Ulozas, Chief Investment Officer, Drexel University
Emory Investment Management Team
Rene Canezin, Managing Director, Head of Fixed Income, Credit and Commodities, Harvard Management Company
Burton Yuen, Senior Director, Financial Asset Division, Kamehameha Schools
Wafa Wei, Director for Absolute Return & Fixed Income, Stanford University
Rip Mecherle, Executive Director of Investments, University of Tennessee

Investor Intelligence Award: Portfolio Design

Robert Thomas, Chief Investment Officer, George Kaiser Family Foundation
Mark Rich, Director of Investments, Kimbell Art Foundation
Jason Klein, Senior Vice President & Chief Investment Officer, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Investment Office led by: Brian O’Neil, Chief Investment Officer
Mike Condon, Treasurer/Chief Investment Officer, Southern Methodist University
Devana Cohen, Director of Investments, United Jewish Appeal Federation

Investor Intelligence Award: Investment Office Re-design

Nicholas Warren, Chief Investment Officer, Brandeis University
Jonathan D. Hook, Chief Investment Officer, Harry & Jeanette Weinberg Foundation
David J. Holmgren, Chief Investment Officer, Hartford Healthcare
Shawn Wischmeier, Chief Investment Officer, Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies
Chris Halaska, Chief Investment Officer, Memorial Hermann Health System
Arthur Guimares, Associate Chief Investment Officer – Chief Operating Officer, University of California

Investor Intelligence Award: Risk Management

Anjum T. Hussain, Director of Strategy, Asset Allocation & Risk Management, Case Western Reserve University
Christopher Rapcewicz, Director of Risk & Operations, Helmsley Trust
Mike Edleson, Chief Risk Officer, University of Chicago
Uzi Yoeli & Risk Management Team, Senior Director of Risk Management, UTIMCO
Bola J. Olusanya, Managing Director, Investments, Vanderbilt University

Thought Leadership Award

David E. Erickson, Chief Investment Officer, Ascension Investment Management
George Mateyo, Executive Director, Investments, Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Rosalind M. Hewsenian, Chief Investment Officer, Helmsley Trust
Mark Baumgartner, Chief Investment Officer, Institute for Advanced Study
Robert J. Manilla, Vice President & Chief Investment Officer, Kresge Foundation

Investor Intelligence Award: Innovator

Joshua M. Kaplan, Managing Director, Hedged Strategies, Ascension Investment Management
Sally J. Staley, Chief Investment Officer, Case Western Reserve University
Joseph Boateng, Chief Investment Officer, Casey Family Programs
Patrick B. O’Connor, Chief Investment Officer, Cook Children’s Health Care System
Gerald Alain P. Chen-Young, Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, UNCF, Inc.
Carrie Thome, Director of Investments, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation

Chief Investment Officer of the Year

Gumersindo Oliveros, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer, Kaust Investment Management Company
Charles J. Pippin, Senior Vice President and Chief Investment Officer, Pepperdine University
Timothy Barrett, Chief Investment Officer, Texas Tech University System
Sally M. Dungan, Chief Investment Officer, Tufts University
Joel R. Wittenberg, Chief Investment Officer, W.K. Kellogg Foundation
James J. Dunn, Chief Executive Officer, Investment Officer, Wake Forest University/Verger Capital Management

Investor Intelligence Award: Good Governance

Kevin Edwards, Senior Investment Officer, Hartford HealthCare
Anthony Waskiewicz, Chief Investment Officer, Vice President-Treasury, Mercy Health
Marcia Miller, Director of Investments, Oberlin College
Karl Scheer, Chief Investment Officer, University of Cincinnati
Samuel Gallo, Chief Investment Officer, University System of Maryland Foundation

Rising Stars

Nicholas Csicsko, Associate Investment Director, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
Rohan Pandit, Investment Director, Cook Childrens’ Health Care System
Ryan Abrams, Assistant Portfolio Manager, Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation

Rising Star in Risk Management

Andrea Rafael, Director of Investment Analytics & Risk Management, Yeshiva University