2020 Public Funds Virtual Roundtable

Oct 20th - Oct 27th 2020
1:00 p.m. EST
Virtual Event

Your life was consumed by noise.

Jim Cramer on CNBC franticly gesticulating about the latest 2% “correction”.

A board member asking exhausting questions about the latest non-event in trade negotiations.

A participant wanting to know, ex post, why you invested in a strategy that underperformed over a three-month timeframe.

And yes, even Institutional Investor occasionally stretching for its seventh published story of the day.

Then came the devastating signal: the COVID-19 pandemic.

Everything changed in March. Markets cratered. Investors were homebound. Thousands of people lost their lives to the disease.

As we emerge from the human and financial destruction, there has never been a more important time to speak with your peers and partners, face-to-face, about picking up the pieces. To focus on the strategies and tactics that will allow you to deliver much-needed capital to your participants. And to focus on resetting the theories, practices, and fallacies of institutional investing.

In short, it’s time to ignore the noise – and focus on the essential.

View the PDF Agenda

2020 Advisory Board

Christopher J. Ailman

Cheryl D. Alston
Employees' Retirement Fund of the City of Dallas

Corey Amon
State of New Jersey Division of Investments

Jase Auby
Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS)

Derek Brodersen
Alberta Teachers Retirement Fund

Elizabeth Burton
Hawaii Employees' Retirement System

Gary Bruebaker
formerly Washington State Investment Board

T.J. Carlson
Texas Municipal Retirement System

Scott Chan

Matthew L. Clark
South Dakota Investment Council

Elizbaeth Crisafi
San Diego City Employees' Retirement System

Bruce H. Cundick
Utah Retirement Systems

James C. Davis

Steve Davis
Sacramento County Employees' Retirement System (SCERS)

Alex Doñé
New York City Retirement Systems

Marcus Frampton
Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation

Dominic J. Garcia
State of New Mexico Public Employees Retirement System

Andrew Greene
Toronto Transit Commission Pension Fund

Paul Greff
Ohio Public Employees Retirement System

James H. Grossman
Pennsylvania Public School Employees' Retirement System

David Hunter
North Dakota Retirement and Investment Office

Craig A. Husting
Public School & Education Employee Retirement Systems of Missouri

Robert Jacksha
New Mexico Educational Retirement Board

Janet Julé
Saskatchewan Healthcare Employees' Pension Plan

David Kaposi
Ontario Power Generation

Farouki Majeed
Ohio School Employees Retirement System

Sam Masoudi
Wyoming Retirement System

Robert M. Maynard
Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho

Scott McIntosh
Ontario Municipal Employees' Retirement System (OMERS)

Daryn Miller
Kern County Employees' Retirement Association

Angela Miller-May
Chicago Public School Teacher's Pension

Molly A. Murphy
Orange County Employees Retirement System

Prabhu Palani
City of San Jose Department of Retirement Services

Andrew C. Palmer
Maryland State Retirement & Pension Systems

Mansco Perry
Minnesota State Board of Investment 

Donald Pierce
San Bernardino County Employees' Retirement Association

Timothy Price
Contra Costa County Employees' Retirement Association

R. Stanley Rupnik
Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois

Stephen Sexauer 
San Diego County Employees Retirement Association

David Silber
City of Milwaukee Employees' Retirement System

J. Scott Simon
Colorado Fire & Police Pension Association

Anthony Smith
Seattle City Employees' Retirement System

Robert "Vince" Smith
New Mexico State Investment Council

Jon Spinney
Vestcor Investment Management Corporation

Mario A. Therrien
Caisse de depot et placement du Quebec (CDPQ)

Michael G. Trotsky
Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board (MassPRIM)

Tom Tull
Employees Retirement System of Texas

David Veal
City of Austin Employees' Retirement System

David Villa
State of Wisconsin Investment Board

Michael Walden-Newman
Nebraska Investment Council

Michael Weinberg 
APG Asset Management

Ashbel C. Williams
Florida State Board of Administration

Casey Wolf
Texas County & District Retirement System


Institutional Investors

Katarina Storfer

Investment Consultants

Carolyn Leven

Asset Managers

Sage Um